Social Media and Community Organizing

By: Kristin Fukushima

So, originally I was going to talk about Little Tokyo and what’s going on with transit and the other issues in the community…. but then that got me thinking about the notion of blogging on these issues itself, and what that means. That is to say… I used to be pretty anti-social media, at least when it comes to any kind of ‘organizing.’ I felt like they were insufficient tools that were overly relied upon – like using a Facebook event as the primary (and/or sole) method of outreach. And while to an extent, I admit I still don’t totally trust things like blogging, YouTube, Twitter, and Facebook, I’ve seen that they can be effective. In fact, some of the major political movements of the last few years have organized and spread through these same sites (i.e. the Tea Party movement, the campaign of President Barack Obama, and the use of twitter or texting in other countries).

Furthermore, to piggyback off of Craig’s earlier post and the recent flurry of media attention to social networking – I think it’s finally time for naysayers like myself to recognize and concede that this is really how people interact these days and for the foreseeable future. And yes – social interacting does include community and political organizing. So given that my department is our Public Policy Advocacy (holler back if you are confused and need an explanation on what that means)… I probably should be utilizing social media tools to connect with y’all on what is up.

My question to the vast masses of the world (or you know, anyone reading this blog) is: how would you want to be connected to JACL Pacific Southwest District’s advocacy work?

That is to say… what works for y’all? And what is effective in general? Basically, while I’m totally sold on the concept of social media for social purposes (connecting to interact and share), I’m still trying to figure out how we at JACL Pacific Southwest District can use these same social networking sites effectively for the purpose of connecting, educating, and empowering folks to advocate on issues that affect our community. So you know… ponder that for a bit. Get back to me (leave a comment, okay?). Let me know what works for you personally, or any success stories you’ve seen.

One thought on “Social Media and Community Organizing

  1. I was one of the BIGGEST nay-sayers of all time for social media. But at the same time, I feel like facebook is slowly creeping into my life in more and more ways.

    Whereas I only used to use it to stalk other people (yeah I’ll just be honest and put it out there). Now i’m legitimately always reading the feed and sometimes putting my thoughts out there for people to react to. Shit, facebook is a damn empire now.

Comments are closed.