Is planning an annual awards dinner like planning a wedding?

by Andrew Yick

My aunt called me late last Sunday night to confirm that I’ll be going to my cousin’s wedding next week in New York.  Since my cousin and his fiancee are still in medical school, my aunt volunteered to be the primary planner of the wedding.  Having planned the past two JACL PSW’s annual awards dinners, I know how time consuming and nerve wracking event planning is.  I was curious to know how my aunt was faring, so I asked her how preparations were coming along.  She paused for a second, and then kind of laughed nervously.  That laugh said it all.  She was feeling a bit overwhelmed and anxious.  At the end of the day, it does all comes together, I said.

I can sympathize with my aunt.  I’m in the middle of the planning of JACL PSW’s 16th Annual Awards Dinner.  It’s 4 months away, but it’ll be here before we know it!  “Living Legends of JACL” will be held on Saturday, October 6, 2012 at the Center at Cathedral Plaza in downtown LA’s civic center:  555 W. Temple St.  Please be sure to mark your calendars!

